About Australia

About Australia   why Australia   Education System   Public Holiday   Public Transport

About Australia


Did you know that there are three separate time zones in Australia?

1. Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST): Queensland, New South Wales (NSW), Victoria, Tasmania and the Australian Capital Territory (ACT)

2.  Australian Central Standard Time (ACST): South Australia, Northern Territory, Broken Hill (west of New South Wales)

3. Australian Western Standard Time (AWST): Western Australia

Daylight Savings

During the Summer, Victoria, Tasmania, New South Wales, ACT and South Australia turn their clocks forward 1 hour for Daylight Saving Time (DST).

Daylight Savings is not recognised in the Northern Territory, Western Australia or Queensland.

The Australian Dollar

The Australian currency is counted in Australian dollars, with 5 different coloured dollar notes, $1 and $2 coins as well as 4 types of silver cent coins.

$5note $10note $20note $50note $100note

Translate »